Sunday and home from Isle of Wight Festival

Going to keep this a bit shorter than intended as WordPress just deleted the entire post once and it’s been a rather long day, starting yesterday…

Yesterday was spent running between fields to catch as much of everything as I could. Band of Skulls, I was told was a ‘must see’. They were fantastic, but I know so little about them I opted against reviewing. Attempting to trek to my tent, a certain beat escaped the Big Top tent and like bacon sarnies in the morning I was drawn in, circling and hoping that The Virgin Marys would be lousey I found myself at the front of the crowd clapping, dancing and grinning ear to ear. I felt like Anthony Wilson discovering the Sex Pistols in 24 hour party people. Only I’m not a producer, wealthy or willing to sign a contract in blood. Again, I wished I could get a review in as these guys are going to storm the scene however due to lack of knowledge there was barely the time if I was to catch the Vaccines.

Darting straight back to the vaccines, not remotely concerned that my wellies were blistering up my feet with running around I was in for a big surprise. Boardmasters last year was good, but for me not brilliant. This year they delivered.

The Vaccines

The Gallaghers don’t really do it for me so I skipped that to get on with writing whilst I could be rigged up to the mains. Backstage was a famous presenter who I still can’t find on Google filming and doing photo-shoots. By the sounds of it Matt Cardle also took bit of a shot at one of the production team (in a good way) but knowing neither I don’t have the details or follow up story! Sky’s money seemed to be invested in a hot air balloon that I didn’t get to see take off but have pics for you later and also a giant Peacock. ?!

I met Laura Williams also working for VF this year although her main job is with 24/7 South West covering fests, she had the unenviable challenge of digging out backstage gossip and news worthy stories. I on the other hand was free to go watch Bruce Springsteen – Wow wow wow, didn’t quite expect to enjoy it so much!

Bruce Springsteen and the E-Street Band

I did get a cheeky scoot over to Ash and not seeing their whole set was by far the biggest disappointment of the weekend. Still, having the fireworks go off on one of the very rare occasions I was in the VIP pen was incredible, not sure what could have beat that. I was also made up that I had been so certain something big was going to happen, I’d even saved the thought in text notes to myself! I’m sure people thought I was crazy texting throughout the show but there was so much to get down.

The darkness was my pressure-free rock out at the end and I am genuinely really excited about the release of their new album. They filled the whole of the middle field both inside and out the tent. Slip-sliding home I was really grateful to The Virgin Marys for being so damn good, I would never have made it to my tent and back on time to enjoy the show.

Choosing to kip for a few hours I set my alarm for 3.30. Listening to a couple of blokes argue right above my head and later a tractor driving by I was still awake when the alarm sounded. The photographer also wanted to sleep another hour and so 4.30 was time to face the music.

Packing up was comical and I was pretty much alone, other than the three security guards watching me with some amusement. One eventually suggested I sack off the tent but being Scorpio, that wasn’t going to happen. I resolved to ram the entire thing into my main bag, filling it with mud in the process. I would never have made it out of the campsite on my own, after a struggle through the first hundred meters I was relieved to be offered help by the photographer who, concerned by my absence, had come to find me.

Quick plug for the photographer, Tim Cheeseman who has some wicked snaps that can’t go on VF for sizing issues blah blah… if you wanna see some of the best wait until he’s recovered and got onto the uploading, it will be worth it!

http://www.timcheesman.co.uk/

Within 15 minutes the two of us were at an empty bus station ready go go our separate (although geographically the same) ways. I was headed to Ryde to catch my ferry and en-route met a fantastic woman who had just had her first ever festival experience. Driven by her 16 yr old son who routinely heads to Reading she had been dubious but had a fantastic time. We differed in opinion regarding music, but she was very current in her tastes and will have a lot to talk about when she gets home!

Ok, so a few complications on the way home including using the wrong template for the final review. Personally I prefer it to the one that I ended up re-writing hours later so I will post it here next. I’m still running on coffee and have a house to unpack still as well as get ready for work bright and early tomorrow, so I’m gonna leave you with tent soup and protective clothing on ferry seats and get some camera snaps to you tomorrow.

Oh, and here’s the official review:
Official IOW overal review for VF

20120625-204116.jpg

20120625-204538.jpg

Leave a Reply

